World Congress of Families
May 11-13, 2007
Warsaw, Poland

New to our Site

2006 Alexis de Tocqueville Award

In a brief ceremony at the World Congress of Families, Marshall and Alan presented Dr. James Tooley with the Alexis de Tocqueville Award - an award the Alliance presents to very special people for advancing educational freedom.

A very proud Dr. James Tooley – and his fabulous Alexis de Tocqueville Award – with Marshall and Alan at the Alliance Booth. 

Dr. James Tooley, professor of education policy at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, England, is the recipient of the 2006 Alexis de Tocqueville Award because of his work in discovering and promoting thousands of small, inexpensive, privately-run, for-profit schools throughout India, China, and Africa.






Conceived by Marshall in 1995, the award is named after Alexis de Tocqueville, who toured the United States in the early 1830s, before the advent of compulsory state schooling.  Tocqueville was amazed at the extent and level of education and political engagement of the American people.

Here is the 2006 Alexis de Tocqueville Award given to Dr. James Tooley.  Many acknowledged it as the most beautiful award of its kind they had seen – including Dr. Tooley!

This beautiful wood box, personally picked out by Marshall, is lined with velvet.  On the inside of the hinged lid is a brass plaque with an inscription honoring the recipient.  A copy of Tocqueville's Political and Moral Thought: New Liberalism by M. R. R. Ossewaarde, a Dutch professor of philosophy, nestles on the velvet lining.

The inscription on the plaque reads:

The Alliance for the Separation of School & State
Presents the
2006 Alexis de Tocqueville Award
for Advancing
ucational Freedom
Professor James Tooley

For his success in discovering and promoting for-profit free-market schools serving the poor in
India, China, and Africa.  His scholarship has thrown into question dependency of the poor on government and demonstrated that free markets provide genuine accountability where it counts most, to a child's parents.

Presented by Alan Schaeffer and
Marshall Fritz at the
World Congress of Families IV Warsaw,
Poland May 11, 2007.

The Alliance introduced our new banners at our World Congress of Families booth.

Return to Gallery

Return to News & Events

Return to Home

Return to Top

Updated July 2, 2007

Some of the more
well-known signers of our proclamation:

Ed Crane
President, Cato Institute

John Taylor Gatto
1991 New York State Teacher of the Year

Fr. John A Hardon
The Catholic Catechism

Don Hodel
Former Secretary of Interior

D. James Kennedy
Coral Ridge Ministries

Rev. Tim LaHaye
Left Behind

Rabbi Daniel Lapin
President, Toward Tradition

Tom Monaghan
Founder, Domino’s Pizza

Ron Paul
US Congressman, Texas

John K Rosemond
Parenting Author, Columnist, Speaker

They and thousands of others have signed Our Proclamation:

"I favor ending government involvement in education."